• Sheriff visits croquet marathon

    The Sheriff of Nottingham, Councillor Merlita Bryan, and her consort visited the Nottingham Croquet Club in Highfields Park during its marathon in aid of Home-Start.  She was welcomed to the club by its President, Peter Death, given some of Irmgard Finnigan's strawberry cake, met Home-Start volunteers at their marquee, and, after changing from high heels to boots, succeeded in running a hoop,



  • Lighting installed for marathon

    The broken floodlight on the pavilion was repaired yesterday and A-plant hire delivered the lighting tower they are lending us, in preparation for the overnight play in the marathon this evening.


  • Omied Hallam won Hopewell Tray

    Omied Hallam won the Nottingham May Handicap weekend with 7 wins out of seven, Everyone else had at least two losses.

    Omied Hallam being presented with the Hopewell Tray by Peter Death

    Omied Hallam being presented with the Hopewell Tray by Peter Death, the club President.

    Overall results were;
    Omied Hallam 7/7
    Clive Goode and Mike Bowser 5/7
    Dave Gunn 4/6
    Peter Moore, Bob Thompson and Arthur Rowe 4/7
    Mark Ormerod 4/8
    David Woodhouse 2/4
    Martin Beacon 3/7
    John Davis    3/8
    Peter Death 2/6
    Judith Moore 1/4
    Derek Buxton 1/5
    Beatrice McGlen 0/8
    Handicap changes; Mike Bowser 4 to 3.5, Beatrice McGlen 1 to 1.5 and Derek Buxton 9 to 10.

  • Womens GC Open

    Several Nottingham members headed up to Ripon for the 11th Women's Golf Croquet Championship.  There was a strong field; 7 of the quarter finalists played in New Zealand (including Cheryl Bromley, the lone US female contestant from the Women's Worlds, who had made it over to the UK for the event!).

    Rachel drew Sue Lightbody in the semis and lost 6-7 6-7 in 2 very close games.  Sam Thompson beat Kath Burt to meet Sue in the final.  Sam won the final in a closely contested final 7-6 2-7 7-5.  Rachel beat Kath 7-0 in the 3rd place play-off.  Jane Pringle won the plate.

    As usual we were provided with lots of tasty food, especially appreciated as the weather was rather cold and windy with only occasional sunshine.

  • Marathon News Release


    Croquet Marathon

    The Nottingham Croquet Club are staging a Croquet Marathon at their Club based at Highfields Park, University Boulevard, Nottingham. The Marathon starts at 10.00am on Saturday 19th May and will finish on Sunday 20th May at 4.00pm. Spectators are welcome and the Club are hoping for some guest appearances from local sporting celebrities!

    This is a first for Nottingham and the Nottingham Croquet Club who hope to attract new members to the club and they will also be raising funds for Home-Start Nottingham.

    Dave Gunn of the Nottingham Croquet Club said ‘Croquet is a surprisingly skilful and strategic sport that has often been compared to 'snooker on a lawn'! Often played with handicapping such as in golf, relative beginners can have enjoyable and meaningful games against even international players and we want to demonstrate that it not just a game for the aristocracy!

    The Nottingham Croquet Club was founded in 1929 its main aim is the promotion of both friendly and competitive croquet as well as providing social activities for all of its members. We hope to recruit new members and to raise funds for the club's selected charity Home-Start Nottingham via local business sponsorships and a raffle. Members of the public have the chance to come along and see the game being played, be briefed about what is actually happening on the main lawn and then to have a go themselves (remember to wear flat soled shoes) on an adjacent lawn where club members will be on hand to talk them through the various shots and techniques. There will also be the chance to sign up for an introductory 'Learn to Play Course' on Thursday evenings starting on 24th May.’

    Sue Fenton, Scheme Manager Home- said ‘we really do appreciate The Nottingham Croquet Club choosing Home-Start Nottingham as their charity and we hope that they have a successful weekend and that the players who cover the ‘night shift’ don’t get too cold’

    For further information about Home-Start Nottingham please visit its website or call Sue Fenton Scheme Manager on 0115 962 4262

    Home-Start Nottingham offers support, friendship and practical help to parents with young children,

    Home-Start Nottingham offers a unique service, recruiting and training volunteers - who are usually parents themselves - to visit families at home who have at least one child under 5 to offer informal, friendly and confidential support.

    To help give children the best possible start in life, Home-Start supports parents as they grow in confidence, strengthen their relationships with their children and widen their links with the local community.

    You can donate to Home-Start Nottingham at it's JustGiving site.




Subscribe to News